Ya gotta little somethin’ there….

This post is one of those facepalm posts where you look back at a picture of yourself that your friend tagged you in on Facebook, and you just say to yourself, “how could I be such a rookie.”  Yup.  Been there.   I’m talking about that ashy, white cast that blazes right back at you in pictures.

Some of you still may be reading this and asking yourself, what the heck is she talking about?  What I’m referring to is the setting powder you use to manage any oiliness or shine on your face, or to simply set your foundation and/or concealer.  Let me demonstrate, Exhibit A:

ghostfaceThat’s me!  This glorious picture was taken earlier this year at my birthday dinner celebrated with my twin and close friends.  You might see the prominent white ash (haha) underneath my eyes there.  That ladies, is sometimes referred to as the “ghost face”, “white cast”, “ashy” etc. etc.  You can’t see it in real life, but in flash photography, it’s all there. Oh, it’s there.

You may have even seen this on the rich and famous like Nicole Kidman, Eva Longoria, and Uma Thurman.  A beauty mishap that can easily be minimized.

As I did my makeup for my birthday dinner, I set my concealer with Makeup Forever’s HD powder.  It was what I had on hand at the time, and didn’t think that flash photography would be used that night. C’est la vie.  For the record, this is not a post bashing Makeup Forever’s HD powder.  I think it’s an amazing product, I just failed to use it properly, hence the white cast on my face.  My mistake was that I used TOO MUCH of the product and just packed it under my eyes willy-nilly.

This HD powder is silica-based.  Another word for silica is silicon dioxide.  The reason for the “white cast” is because silicon dioxide has light-diffusing properties.  When light hits this silica powder, the light is not absorbed, but rather bounces back, giving off a white cast.

Moral of the story, if your setting powder has any light refractive ingredients such as silicon dioxide, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, or SPF in general, I would try and stay clear of these IF you know there will be flash photography during your night out.  Personally, I love Mineral Veil by Bare Minerals to set my concealer and foundation, and even though it does have titanium dioxide, I don’t find it leaving a harsh white cast when flash photography is involved.  Also note, that a little goes a long way! Don’t look like a ghost for your holiday gatherings this season! That would be sad. 😦  Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

