October Skincare Favorites! Part 1

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I’m so excited fall is in full swing!  Crisp air, colorful leaves, hot beverages, and of course, cute clothes!  Bring on the scarves and boots!!  But as the seasons change so does my makeup and skincare routine.  My face tends to get very dry in certain areas especially around the mouth, eyelids, and weirdly enough, behind my earlobes.  Oh yes, even behind the earlobes.  But the rest of my face remains oily to normal AND acne-prone. C’est la vie.

Lately, I’ve been having issues with acne (the typical annoying small bumps around my jawline and cheeks) and my prescribed topical cream was just not cutting it anymore.  I needed to adjust my skincare routine to supplement my topical cream.  With so so SO many skincare products out there on the market, it can become a very daunting task, but I was up for the challenge.  I scoured the internet, read countless online reviews,  and watched a number of beauty gurus on youtube who recommended products.  To say the least, it was (as I suspected) a very overwhelming and exhausting process, but I weirdly quite enjoyed the hunt.  Lets be honest though, you will never find the “perfect skincare routine.”  It will always be changing.  Always.  Sorry to break it to ya.

With a wealth of information I had in my holster, I took to my local Sephora and ULTA stores and chose a few products to purchase.  So far, I’m very pleased with my purchases.  I hope I can recommend some products that you can try yourself, but I can’t guarantee an overnight miracle.  Some of these take time, so be patient, and be conscience of how your skin reacts to any and all products you use.  There are a lot of products I’ll be mentioning which is why I’ve split this post into two parts.

Alright, enough with the jibba jabba, let’s get to it!

These are listed in the order I like to apply each product:

1.  Eye and lip makeup remover: Bioderma

image (2)

Honestly, one of the best makeup removers I have found.  Believe me, I’ve tried Baby Oil, Vaseline, makeup remover wipes, etc. to get rid of my eye makeup. But this.  How did I live for so long without THIS!!! Bioderma is an independent French company/laboratory who work closely with dermatologists and research centers to create products for mainstream marketing (mainly for skin cosmetics and medicine). How COOL is that???

Anyhow, so this Bioderma stuff is amazing.  It is not oily AT ALL! It feels a lot like water on the skin and is incredibly gentle.  I hated using oily-based products to use for eye makeup remover because the oil would get in my eyes and my vision and contacts would get all cloudy.  And I hate using makeup remover wipes because the wipe itself tend to be too rough for my eye area and if I got any of the moisture in my eye, it stung!  But no more. Bioderma has arrived. 😀  Bioderma is also incredible for removing fake lashes and waterproof mascara.  I couldn’t be more pleased with this product!

2.  Facial makeup remover (1st cleanse): Clinique “Take the Day Off” Cleansing Balm

image (5)

When I wear a full face of makeup, I want a gentle cleanser to help remove it all and that’s why I choose to cleansing balm to do the job.  I’ve been reading a lot about these balms and I finally decided to try one out.  Let me tell you.  This stuff feels like buttery velvet on your face.  It is so smooth and luxurious, honestly, as much as I love putting makeup on, I just as much enjoy removing it by the end of the day.  It’s almost like my own personal “spa” treatment I like to give myself.  And my skin loves me for it.

Clinique’s cleansing balm melts all of my other makeup right off making it so much easier to wash away!  You can even add a bit of water to the balm and it will turn into this milky consistency to help remove the makeup off as well.  Ah! So lovely! Rinse your face with lukewarm water and you can proceed to your second cleanse.

Instead of dipping dirty fingers into the balm every use, I’d use a little spatula or the other end of a plastic utensil to remove the balm from the tub.  This will help keep your balm free of festering germs. Yuck!

**I always do a double cleanse when removing my makeup.  The first cleanse it to get the majority of your makeup off.  The second cleanse is what actually cleanses your face and pores and removes any excess makeup you maybe have left behind.  I only double cleanse when I’ve worn a full face of makeup that day.  Other days, I stick to just one cleanser.**

3.  2nd cleanse: Philosophy “Miracle Worker” Lactic Acid Cleanser and Mask

image (6)

Onto the second cleanse! Another beloved favorite of mine: Philosophy’s Lactic Acid Cleanser and Mask.  This product claims to be “anti-aging” but if you read My Philosophy page, you’d know that I just don’t buy into that market.  However, what I REALLY was sold on about this product was it’s key ingredient: Lactic Acid. Lactic Acid has been known to help improve skin texture and hydration.  I’ll do a more in depth post about Lactic Acid in skincare products in the near future.  But just know, it’s also a great ingredient to be on the lookout when searching for skincare products.

4. Evening Moisturizer: Burt’s Bees Sensitive Night Cream 

DSC_1866

I love Burt’s Bees products.  And Sensitive Night Cream has been doing well for me so far.  It’s lightweight and unscented.  My husband hated my previous night creams.  They always had a strange and typically strong scent.  I also grew tired of the smell, but most importantly, the previous night creams were just too heavy feeling.  It felt like my skin couldn’t “breathe” at night.   I don’t believe that this cream helps to reduce fine lines or anything, but it does the job to keep my skin hydrated without breaking me out.

5. Eye Cream:  PURE Vitamin C+ 

DSC_1881

I found this eye cream at TJ Maxx, actually.  And for only $5.00, I thought I’d try it out.  I also like that it contained Vitamin C (or rather another form of Vitamin C called Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate.  This form is still an effective antioxidant like it’s neighboring part, absorbic acid.)  It’s been known to help brighten the skin, making it a perfect ingredient for eye creams.

Vitamin C is a great ingredient to keep an eye out when you’re on the search for a good skincare product.  Vitamin C helps collagen production, keeping your skin looking firm  and healthy.

Using this for several weeks now (day and night) I have noticed that my dark circles have been minimized, which I’m quite pleased! This cream is very hydrating and I love the scent of it.  It smells like oranges!  Mmmm!  Another added tip, stick your eye creams in the fridge.  The cold cream will help with any puffiness around the eyes.  I must say, I’ve been pleasantly surprised with this product considering it was only for $5.oo!!! Winning! 🙂

6. Homemade Lip Scrub with Coconut Oil

image (7)

I loooove this lip scrub.  I actually have never ever made or even used a lip scrub before.  I was bored one night and decided to make some from a recipe I found on Pinterest.  It was great because I already had all of the ingredients in my pantry.  This homemade lip scrub has three simple ingredients: 1 part coconut oil (solid form), 1 part honey, and 2-3 parts brown sugar.

Let me tell you. I am so hooked on this stuff! It smells amazing, it tastes amazing and it exfoliates and hydrates wonderfully! Coconut oil helps to moisturize the lips, honey has medicinal qualities, and brown sugar helps to exfoliate your lips to make lipstick/lipgloss application soo smooth without having embarrassing dried, peeling lips. Oh yes, it’s happened to me. Not a cute look.  This is the perfect remedy for fall/winter chapped lips when your chapstick just isn’t cutting it.

Just rub this lip scrub on your lips and wipe away.  I guess you could eat it too, but it’s too sugary for my liking, but still yummy. 🙂

7. Lip Balm:  Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Skin Protectant

image (1)

To finish off the lips after exfoliating, I apply Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Skin Protectant.  This is soooo wonderful on my lips.  When it says 8 hours skin protectant, believe it.  It’s soo hydrating.  I really like the smell too, but some may not care for it.  It reminds me a lot like Smith’s Rosebud Salve, but I feel that it lasts longer than the Rosebud Salve.  I don’t know, that’s just me.

Thanks to one of my favorite makeup artists on youtube, Lisa Eldridge, for introducing me to this lovely product.  It’s been around for a while and is very very well known in the beauty/cosmetic world.  I also keep a tube of this in my pro kit also when I do freelance work. If my client’s lips are dry and chapped I’ll use a q-tip and rub this on their lips.  My clients always ask me what it is I put on their lips because they love the feel.  Love, love, looove this stuff!

This concludes the first part of my October Skincare Favorites!  Stay tuned for Part 2 of my October Skincare Favorites tomorrow!

If you have any products you’d like to recommend me to try, I would LOVE to read your recommendations in the comments section!

2 thoughts on “October Skincare Favorites! Part 1

Leave a Reply

